Harm On The Home Front – 13WHAM ABC Rochester NY – Featured


Shame on the VA and this administration for further harming our military and the veterans!!!

Updated: Tuesday, May 5 2015, 12:46 AM EDT

b2zZ44ndUPQt49nV_22350video: http://13wham.com/news/features/featured/stories/harm-home-front-5651.shtml

Rochester, N.Y. – David Goodsell dreams of being able to work fulltime. “I feel depressed sometimes because I want to go back to work fulltime,” said Goodsell in his Gates living room. “I’ve thought about and I’ve even made inquiries once or twice in the last year and then more so since they knocked me down. I mean right now I’m getting $500 from the VA when I was getting $1200 and that helped quite a bit.” Goodsell was a Corporal in the United States Army in 1983 when he injured his back during a training exercise in Germany before the first Gulf War. He’s had three back surgeries since, in 1986, 1991 and 1998. According to the V.A. Goodsell is 40-percent disabled. “Effective November 1st they knocked me back to 40-percent, from 60 to 40,” he explained and he shared the letter he received that goes on to say: “The most recent examination dated May 1, 2014 shows improvement in active range of motion testing which would warrant only a 20 percent evaluation. As you have been service connected at the 40 percent rate for more than 20 years this evaluation is protected by the law and cannot be reduced.” Goodsell believes a physical done at the V.A. on Westfall Road in Rochester caused this.

Read More at: http://13wham.com/news/features/featured/stories/harm-home-front-5651.shtml

Updated: Tuesday, May 5 2015, 12:46 AM EDT Rochester, N.Y. – David Goodsell dreams of being able to work fulltime. “I feel depressed sometimes because I want to go back to work fulltime,” said Goodsell in his Gates living room. “I’ve thought about and I’ve even made inquiries once or twice in the last year and then more so since they knocked me down. I mean right now I’m getting $500 from the VA when I was getting $1200 and that helped quite a bit.” Goodsell was a Corporal in the United States Army in 1983 when he injured his back during a training exercise in Germany before the first Gulf War. He’s had three back surgeries since, in 1986, 1991 and 1998. According to the V.A. Goodsell is 40-percent disabled. “Effective November 1st they knocked me back to 40-percent, from 60 to 40,” he explained and he shared the letter he received that goes on to say: “The most recent examination dated May 1, 2014 shows improvement in active range of motion testing which would warrant only a 20 percent evaluation. As you have been service connected at the 40 percent rate for more than 20 years this evaluation is protected by the law and cannot be reduced.” Goodsell believes a physical done at the V.A. on Westfall Road in Rochester caused this.

Read More at: http://13wham.com/news/features/featured/stories/harm-home-front-5651.shtml

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Harm On The Home Front – 13WHAM ABC Rochester NY – Featured

Comments are closed.