Pastor Jeremiah Steepek (pictured below) transformed himself into a homeless person…


The only ones that weren’t surprised by the outcome are those that have never been to one of these 10K+ churches…

Pastor Jeremiah Steepek (pictured below) transformed himself into a homeless person and went to the 10,000 member church that he was to be introduced as the head pastor at that morning.

Pastor Jeremiah Steepek (pictured below) transformed himself into a homeless person and went to the 10,000 member church that he was to be introduced as the head pastor at that morning. He walked around his soon to be church for 30 minutes while it was filling with people for service....only 3 people out of the 7-10,000 people said hello to him. He asked people for change to buy food....NO ONE in the church gave him change. He went into the sanctuary to sit down in the front of the church and was asked by the ushers if he would please sit n the back. He greeted people to be greeted back with stares and dirty looks, with people looking down on him and judging him. As he sat in the back of the church, he listened to the church announcements and such. When all that was done, the elders went up and were excited to introduce the new pastor of the church to the congregation........"We would like to introduce to you Pastor Jeremiah Steepek"....The congregation looked around clapping with joy and anticipation.....The homeless man sitting in the back stood up.....and started walking down the aisle.....the clapping stopped with ALL eyes on him....he walked up the altar and took the microphone from the elders (who were in on this) and paused for a moment....then he recited “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’ “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’ “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’ After he recited this, he looked towards the congregation and told them all what he had experienced that morning...many began to cry and many heads were bowed in shame.... he then said....Today I see a gathering of people......not a church of Jesus Christ. The world has enough people, but not enough disciples...when will YOU decide to become disciples? He then dismissed service until next week.......Being a Christian is more than something you claim. I'ts something you live by and share with others.

He walked around his soon to be church for 30 minutes while it was filling with people for service….only 3 people out of the 7-10,000 people said hello to him. He asked people for change to buy food….NO ONE in the church gave him change. He went into the sanctuary to sit down in the front of the church and was asked by the ushers if he would please sit n the back. He greeted people to be greeted back with stares and dirty looks, with people looking down on him and judging him.

As he sat in the back of the church, he listened to the church announcements and such. When all that was done, the elders went up and were excited to introduce the new pastor of the church to the congregation……..”We would like to introduce to you Pastor Jeremiah Steepek”….The congregation looked around clapping with joy and anticipation…..The homeless man sitting in the back stood up…..and started walking down the aisle…..the clapping stopped with ALL eyes on him….he walked up the altar and took the microphone from the elders (who were in on this) and paused for a moment….then he recited

“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’ “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’
“The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

After he recited this, he looked towards the congregation and told them all what he had experienced that morning…many began to cry and many heads were bowed in shame…. he then said….Today I see a gathering of people……not a church of Jesus Christ. The world has enough people, but not enough disciples…when will YOU decide to become disciples? He then dismissed service until next week…….Being a Christian is more than something you claim. I’ts something you live by and share with others.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Pastor Jeremiah Steepek (pictured below) transformed himself into a homeless person…

  1. Grace says:

    I read this and it is truly inexcusable that a Christian would not speak to any homeless person, let alone one that walks into their church home. But what does this have to do with being Christian or not. This is humanity. It would not have mattered if he walked into a school house or a courthouse, a hospital or a clinic-his clothing and initial appearance would have gotten the same response. Do Not make this out to be a Christianity thing-IT IS A HUMANITY THING. It does not matter what you proclaim to be, AETHIST or CHRISTIAN. Jew or Gentile. Black or White. The reaction and result would have been the same. We are a selfish, self centered nation, judgmental nation and if he came to your door like that you would have turned him away also.

    Like

    • a12iggymom says:

      No Grace, I would not turn him away. You are putting your self in my shoes. I not only didn’t turn away a semi-homeless person, but offered to take them into my home.

      Like

  2. Delle says:

    This is a great story and example, but is an urban legend, loosely fabricated from a novel plot. The photo is actually a homeless guy in London. http://www.snopes.com/glurge/homelesspastor.asp

    Like

  3. Name withheld says:

    It has been reported that this may be a FaceBook hoax. What got me looking into this is the fact that this is reported to be a church with elders. That would make it a protestant church where the congregation calls a man after he has been presented to them by some type of search committee.. Usually the man is brought in for a series of meeting to introduce him and he usually preaches before the congregation before they call him. While some denominations have other steps such as a Presbytery examination for example, the process from preaching to installation would not be enough time to grow that beard. 10,000 member churches usually call men who are somewhat handsome and easy on the camera. If this happened, it is an amazing disguise..

    Like

  4. upaces88 says:

    a12iggymom…It wasn’t an angry response to them at all….it was more like….Okaaaay….what is scripture about “Slapping your sandals together and the dust flies” (due to the unbeliever? Maybe you or Dixie will remember if if she comes over here.

    Like

  5. Truth Warrior says:

    Wow! I’m speechless! So many gathered proclaiming they are Christians yet none know Jesus personally! Unfortunately…most churches are like this and I believe they all need a Pastor Jeremiah to remind them!!

    Like

    • a12iggymom says:

      I know Truth Warrior…very sad days we are in…

      Like

      • upaces88 says:

        Unfortunately, this has been happening for years…even when I was growing up.
        Truth Warrior knows this story.
        I am the Grand-daughter and daughter of two ministers.
        I married a high school sweetheart and moved to Oceanside, CALIF (he was a Marine).
        He beat up on me and one night stabbed me in the head with a knife.
        I called my parents and they flew me back to Ft. Worth. I filed for divorce.
        I went to church with my parents about some kind of meeting.
        Seems THEY HAD DECIDED that divorces were not allowed in my church. They advised me to remain married and to “convert him.”. I told them that If I did that, I wouldn’t live. I turned around to walk out of the church, when one of the deacons said, “You’ll be leaving Jesus.”
        I immediately whipped around and said, “No, He goes wherever I go. I am taking Him with me.
        I left and never looked back.
        A month later, one of the Deacon’s daughters got a divorce and she was allowed to remain in the Church.

        Like

      • a12iggymom says:

        Wow, they say what comes around, goes around… that pastor was just out and out wrong, good you left and didn’t heed his advice!

        Like

      • a12iggymom says:

        I do like your response to him!

        Like

    • upaces88 says:

      We have talked about this many, many times. There is a huge difference between a “christian” (yes, small case “c” in christian); and “CHRIST CENTERED.

      Like

    • upaces88 says:

      There you are…what is that scripture about “slapping your sandals together…leaving the dust behind.” I don’t remember the exact words.

      Like

  6. upaces88 says:

    My church was very much like the church described in the article.

    Like

  7. upaces88 says:

    What an incredibly wise man. I am so glad to see that this actually happened!!
    God Bless Him; and I do hope they learned that lesson and will take it to their hearts!

    Like

    • a12iggymom says:

      I’d say so…can you imagine? :::head shake:::

      Like

      • upaces88 says:

        I wish this could happen in EVERY church. I have a bone to pick with Christian Churches because my grand-father and dad were both ministers; and I have seen and heard some things that, literally drove me away from church.
        That is NOT to say that I forgot about Jesus. Christ is with me everyday.

        Like

Comments are closed.